Country Definitions


Sub-category of Geography
See also:
Ruler Definitions - Names we call the leader of a country.
Types of Governments
Continents and Areas of Planet

Country Definitions

Other names for what a country or region of the world could be called:

1. separate nation: a nation or state that is politically independent, or a land that was formerly independent and remains separate in some respects

2. homeland: the nation or state where somebody was born or is a citizen

3. geographically distinct area: a large area of land regarded as distinct from other areas, for example, because of its natural boundaries or because it is inhabited by a particular people
The country was settled by Europeans in the 16th century.

4. farmed and undeveloped area: an area that is farmed or remains in a relatively undeveloped state, as distinct from cities, towns, and other built-up areas a house in the country

5. region with special character: a region that is distinguished by particular characteristics or is associated with a particular activity, person, or group of people This was rebel country and there were checkpoints along the road.

6. nation’s people: the people of a nation or state, especially when affected as a group by political or other events a scandal that rocked the country

Administrative division - Example - Northern Ireland
Autonomous political units
Duchy - duke or duchess’s territory: the territory over which a duke or duchess has jurisdiction. Also called dukedom.
Enclave  / French - Villes Libres / German - Kontors /
Independent Island State
Independent principality - Example: Liechtenstein
Mandated territory
Medieval Confederations
Territory of the ?
Unincorporated territory (Example: American Samoa)
United Nations trust territory administered by

Names - However a different manner of assessment.
Politically Different - A definition of Traveler's Century Club
Ethnologically Different - A definition of Traveler's Century Club
Geographically Different - A definition of Traveler's Century Club

Territory, name given in the United States to a partially self-governing section of the national domain that has not been granted statehood. The major U.S. territories are the District of Columbia on the mainland; American Samoa and Guam in the Pacific; and the Virgin Islands of the United States in the West Indies. Puerto Rico, now a commonwealth, was a U.S. territory until 1952. Alaska and Hawaii, respectively the 49th and 50th states of the Union, were territories until 1959. The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands was administered by the United States from 1947 to 1986 as part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. The territories and Puerto Rico are not regularly represented in the U.S. Congress but are allowed to send a delegate, who is given a seat in the House of Representatives with a right to take part in the debates but not to vote. For information on other U.S. territories, see Midway Islands; Line Islands; Wake Island.

By the U.S. Constitution, the Congress is given power “to make all needful rules and regulations respecting the territory or other property belonging to the United States.” From the beginning this clause was construed as giving the powers incident to jurisdiction as well as to ownership, and even before the adoption of the Constitution the Northwest Territory was regularly organized by the old Confederation Congress, which for this purpose passed the Ordinance of 1787. This ordinance served as the model for much of the subsequent legislation in the same field.

In Canada and Australia, a territory is an administrative region that, although largely self-governing, has not attained the status of a province or state. For more information on the governance of Canadian territories, see Northwest Territories; Nunavut; Yukon Territory. For information on the mainland territories of Australia, see Australian Capital Territory; Northern Territory.

, in international law, relationship between two states in which the stronger state guarantees to protect the weaker one from external aggression or internal disturbance in return for full or partial control over its foreign and domestic affairs. This relationship is established by treaty between the states concerned; usually the extent and character of the protectorate are outlined in the treaty. No matter how great the right of interference—and in some cases it may be tantamount to virtual control—the protected state retains its nominal sovereignty, thus differing from a colony (see Colonies and Colonialism) or a mandated territory (see Mandate).

Colony: country ruled by another: a country or area that is ruled by another country

Enclave: More or less a small country or territory that is culturally or ethnically different from a surrounding larger and distinct political unit, there is usually a relationship with the surrounding country in aspects of currency, protection, etc.

Independent principality - Example: Liechtenstein - prince’s or princess’s country: a territory ruled by a prince or princess

Mandated territory

Nation-State, territory controlled by a single government and inhabited by a distinct population with a common culture that shapes the identity of its citizens.

Autonomous political units - self-governing: politically independent and self-governing

Sovereignty autonomous, absolute political and military power embodied in a ruler or governmental body



1. Government/Administration
2. Enclaves/Continental Separation
3. Federations
4. Islands/island Groups
5. Disputed Status
6. Unpopulated/Unadministered Areas
7. Grandfather Clause

Copyright © 1997 - 2017 - All rights reserved. is not responsible for content on external web sites


Join My Hobo Today